Office under the stairs

I love my home office. It is definitely one of my favourite corners in the house. It is a small space under the stairs, but big enough to fit my desk and office furniture.

In the past I have worked:

  • from the spare bedroom but I felt isolated and disconnected โ€“ going upstairs and working from a small room next to our bedroom did not feel quite right. Besides working from home can make you feel isolated and a little bit lonely at times. Hiding in a spare room would only add to that feeling. Or it certainly did for me.
  • from a desk in my bedroom but it did not really feel like a home office but more like a teenager’s desk
  • from the kitchen table but I did not have any space to keep my stuff (paper work, files, resources and props), not to mention the inconvenience of having to clear the table before the children came back from school and then lay everything back again in the evening.

So my current work area is most definitely the best office I ever had. If you want to have a look, here it is.

It is quite versatile and I love that it is easy to keep it tidy. I keep changing the decor and colour scheme, so I never get bored of it. But I cannot do without my hand-cream and my red radio tuned either on Radio 2 or 4.

So what about you? Where in the house is your office? I’d love to hear your thoughts :)

6 thoughts on “Office under the stairs”

  1. My office is in the spare bedroom upstairs. The hubby works from home too and he has his computer set up on the dining table in the lounge. My spare room works perfectly for me because I can have my music on while working without distracting the hubby. I just bought a new desk and love that I can now have files and pens next to the computer where I can reach them!

    Your office looks great by the way. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. What a great idea! I have worked in spare rooms, from the kitchen table and now my office is my laptop, on my lap, on the sofa in our lounge, so I can keep an eye on the kids whilst working, and it’s quite comfy too! It’s not the best, but it’s the best for now ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

