My name is …

Greek surnames can be hard to pronounce and even harder to spell in English. But I am fortunate to have the simplest and shortest Greek surname possible. Pappa – two characters (A and P) combined to make a five-letter name. Could it get simpler than that?

So I find it amusing when I see the different ways that children spell my name.

This is quite prominent just before the Christmas holiday when I get Christmas cards from pupils in schools I work with.

A selection of this year’s spellings includes:

Ms Papa

Ms Popa

Ms Paper

Ms Popar

Ms Pupa

It is a rare occasion to receive a card with my name spelt correctly.

At least most of them get the Ms part right.

2 thoughts on “My name is …”

Leave a Reply

